Williams PBL Racks Up State Accolades

Williams Baptist College’s chapter of Phi Beta Lambda competed at the state competition on April1-2, and they brought home numerous awards, including Gold Chapter Status. Many of the honors achieved at the Little Rock event earned WBC spots at the National Leadership Conference, which will be held June 24-27 in Atlanta.

PBL, which is comprised of college business students, is the collegiate extension of the Future Business Leaders of America.

In order to become a Gold Chapter, PBL chapters must meet certain expectations. WBC’s PBL participated in more events at the state competition, interacted with local FBLA chapters and business professionals, completed community service projects and raised money for charity to earn the golden status for the second time.

Williams also earned third place in Largest Professional Division Membership, which is based on alumni membership and involvement.

“WBC students once again have proven their competent knowledge in the field of business with their exceptional performance at the PBL Conference,” said Heather Parson, chair of the Department of Business at Williams and PBL sponsor.

To qualify for the national conference, students must win first, second or third place in state testing categories, or first or second place in presentations events. All totaled, 25 Williams students qualified to compete at nationals this year.

WBC students earning first place honors were: Jovane Salinas and Diego Santillan (Business Decision Making); Jacob Hames, Oni Robertson and Megan Weick (Business Ethics); Keith McAnally and Garrett Williams (Business Law); Taylor Galloway, Tyler Dibert and Williams (Business Presentation); Brennan Pugh (Marketing Concepts); Abigail Bormann and Asher Emmanuel (Human Resource Management); Michaela Thompson, Robertson and Hames (Integrated Marketing Campaign); Paige Vickery (Annual Report); Ethan Risley, Collin Whitney and Luke Carter (Social Media Challenge); Alec Scott (Sports Management and Marketing); Joshua Consemiu, Weick and Galloway (Financial Analysis and Decision Making); and Consemiu and Scott (Hospitality Management).

Students coming in second place were: Tyler Dibert and Patrick Grigsby (Community Service Project); Casse Redus (Computer Concepts); Pugh (Financial Concepts); Risley (Cost Accounting); Nicolas Scott (Entrepreneurship Concepts); Redus (Information Management); and Andrei Leal, Thiago Silva and Kurt Herzig (Business Decision Making).

Third place winners were: Drake Nilges (Cyber Security); Bormann and Emmanuel (Hospitality Management); Salinas (Human Resource Management); Herzig (Statistical Analysis); and Thompson and Vickery (Marketing Analysis and Decision Making).

Placing fourth was Steven Ballow (Help Desk).

Fifth place awards went to: Ballow (Computer Concept); and McAnally (Justice Administration).

PBL 16 State