What’s now Arkansas’ Independent Colleges & Universities was founded in March 1954 as the Arkansas Foundation of Associated Colleges. It began as a sort of “United Way” for the state’s private colleges and universities but has since evolved into an organization that also provides extensive governmental affairs and public affairs support for its 11 member institutions.

In July 2015, Dr. Rex Horne became the AICU president after nine years as the president of Ouachita Baptist University. Horne travels statewide to educate business and civic leaders in all parts of Arkansas about the importance of private higher education.

The 11 colleges and universities that are members of AICU are accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. AICU is a tax-exempt charitable organization under federal and state laws. All contributions to the AICU scholarship fund are tax deductible. …more

Featured News

Arkansas Colleges of Health Education Joins AICU

Arkansas’ Independent Colleges and Universities welcomes a new institution. The presidents’ council of AICU invited Arkansas Colleges of Health Education located in Fort Smith to become a member. President and CEO, Kyle Parker, J.D., informed AICU that the institution accepts this invitation and looks forward to being a member with the other 10 institutions. Rex Horne, president of AICU, states that “Arkansas Colleges of Health Education brings an institution into our group that is unique … …more

News from our member institutions

Norman Selected as 7th President of Williams

Williams Baptist College

Dr. Stan Norman has been selected to lead Williams Baptist University in Walnut Ridge. Norman was announced on Friday as the seventh president of the university, following a five-month search process, and he will take the helm of Williams in April. “I am incredibly honored by this selection and truly humbled at the graciousness of God to lead the WBU Board of Trustees to invite Joy and me to serve at Williams Baptist University. Six … …more

Articulation agreement reached with NWACC

University of the Ozarks

University of the Ozarks has entered into an articulation agreement with Northwest Arkansas Community College (NWACC) in Bentonville, Ark., to simplify the process for students at NWACC who want to transfer to U of O. Under this new partnership, a number of NWACC degrees—Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S), Associate of Arts (A.A.) and Associate of Science (A.S)—are now acceptable for transfer articulation to bachelor degrees at Ozarks. The transferring students would be admitted to Ozarks … …more

Williams Theatre Program to Close Season with “Silent Sky”

Williams Baptist College

The Williams Baptist College theatre program will close its 2017-18 season with Lauren Gunderson’s “Silent Sky.” The production will run Thursday, April 5, and Friday, April 6, in WBC’s Old Chapel. The play tells the true story of 19th-century astronomer Henrietta Leavitt and explores a woman’s place in society during a time of immense scientific discoveries, when women’s ideas were dismissed until men claimed credit for them. When Leavitt begins work at the Harvard Observatory … …more

Central Baptist College Expands Ministry Tuition Grant Program

Central Baptist College

Central Baptist College (CBC) is pleased to announce an expansion of the Ministry Tuition Grant. Previously designated the Ministers Discount, the Ministry Tuition Grant has, for many years, been available to those in a traditional degree program who are licensed or ordained to the preaching ministry and actively attending or serving in a Baptist Missionary Association of America (BMAA), Southern Baptist Convention (SBC), or American Baptist Association (ABA) church. Wives and dependent children of those … …more