University of the Ozarks receives Chamber honor

University of the Ozarks was selected as the 2017 Corporate Business of the Year at the annual Clarksville-Johnson County Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet, held Feb. 3 at the Cabin Creek Lookout in Lamar.

In presenting the award, chamber officials cited the University for its record enrollment of 755 students during the fall semester as well as its current $55 million Climb Higher fund-raising campaign to increase student scholarship opportunities and to enhance science and athletic facilities.

Representatives of University of the Ozarks celebrate their award

Representing the University at the banquet included, (pictured from left) Joey Long, a freshman biology major from Cabot; Pat Pearson, administrative assistant for alumni relations; Chris Allen, a member of the Board of Trustees; Brett Wood, director of alumni relations; Nicole Wood, a senior health science major from Clarksville; Ruth Walton, director of career services; Larry Isch, director of public and media relations; Dr. Scott Sheinfeld, assistant professor of business; and Ramona Cogan, office manager for marketing and public relations.

Also at the Chamber Awards Banquet, El Parian restaurant was named the 2017 Small Business of the Year, Tom Cogan was presented with the Lee White Legacy Award and Carol Martin was honored with the Pillar of Progress Award.