WBC Completes First Year of Coe Honors Program

Williams Baptist College has completed the first academic year of its new Coe Honors Program.  WBC had 19 Coe Honors Scholars for the 2016-2017 academic year, including six students who graduated in this year’s commencement exercises.

This year’s Coe Honors Scholars were Tessa Babbitt of Benton (2017 graduate), Malerie Bennett of Reyno, Brandi Bookout of Portia (2017 graduate), Brandon Brigance of Gentry, Chelsea Clarkson of Wynne (2017 graduate), Justin Cole of Brookland, Bethany Cummins of West Memphis (2017 graduate), Zachary Dicus of Paragould, Allison Elkins of Jonesboro, Hannah Estes of Morrilton, Jonathan Guiltner of Melbourne, Emily Hewitt of Henrico, Va., Erika Isbill of Jonesboro, Grady Majors of Batesville, Kelsey McKenney of Piggott (2017 graduate), Elizabeth Ryan of Harrison, Elizabeth Scales of Imboden, Brianna Warner of Walnut Ridge (2017 graduate) and Collin Whitney of Searcy.

The program launched at WBC last fall.  The title of Coe Honors Scholar is a tribute to the late Henry E. (Ezra) and Verbeth Coe of Tuckerman, whose estate gift endowed scholarships at Williams.

The Coe Honors Program is open to students with a proven record of academic achievement. Students recognized under this program participate in special field trips, symposia, lectures and other academic enrichment activities.

Dr. Chris Polachic was recently named director of the program.  Polachic is assistant professor of natural sciences at Williams.

WBC is a four-year, liberal arts college in Walnut Ridge, Ark.